//
you're reading...
birthdays, family, humor, Uncategorized

happy bd <3 ya, g-ma

There are few things left in the world that are absolutes: death, taxes, mini dogs in purses and a birthday card in the mail from your grandma. I always look forward to those saccharine, glitter-encrusted cards, invariably (but lovingly) sealed in a pink envelope. When I was little there would be a dollar bill for however old I was that year, but since that tradition went kaput when I turned, like 12, I grew to appreciate the sweet little notes scrawled inside. But nonetheless, I anticipated the blissful arrival of a card in the days leading up to my birthday, a small, physical token acknowledging the day of my birth, glitter and all.

Technology can't take down the Granny birthday card!! Or can it...

Imagine my shock when I didn’t receive a single birthday card in the mail this year. Not one envelope fluttered through my mail slot, not a single telltale swatch of pastel peeked out from between junk catalogs and bills. Each day that came and went sans birthday card, my anxiety climbed a little higher- maybe the post office lost it! Maybe she mis-addressed it!- and finally, the penultimate day before B-Day, I came to the grim realization that no birthday card was coming.

And then, right when I thought my Granny had gone and forgotten my birthday, I received the following text message:

HAPPY BD, ❤ YA, G-MA

Huh….Not what I was expecting, but in it’s own way so much better than a card. Even though I did kind of miss the glitter and singing kittens.

About Rachel

www.aspenandella.wordpress.com

Discussion

67 thoughts on “happy bd <3 ya, g-ma

  1. that’s hilarious! my grandma doesn’t even know how to use a cell phone! happy belated!

    Posted by trialsinfood | October 28, 2011, 10:46 pm
  2. haahaahaaahaa 😀

    Nice post 🙂 such experiences do leav us stumped,don’t they?!

    perhaps, v should stop expecting our grannies to be so less-mod and less acquainted with technology 😀

    -Saurav 4m India

    Posted by fr3lancer | October 27, 2011, 1:28 am
  3. Love this! 😉 Keep up the good work and ill keep following you!!

    -Chris Styles

    http://www.idolizejournal.com

    Posted by idolizethemind | October 19, 2011, 1:44 am
  4. “Technology can’t take down the Granny birthday card!! Or can it…” — Apparently it did lol! Lovely post!

    Posted by cuddles1108 | October 16, 2011, 6:56 pm
  5. Happie Bday♥
    Unique blog!

    Posted by randomlyabstract | October 13, 2011, 6:03 pm
  6. I’m impressed! We got my grandma a cell phone that she insisted on keeping in her glove box…for emergencies. I tried to explain to her that people used them on a regular basis, but she was an emergency only kind of woman. 😉 I still have all of her cards, and miss her when holidays/birthdays come around and I no longer receive anything from her…

    Posted by Rachel @ Eggs In A Row | October 13, 2011, 4:53 pm
  7. so sweet… grandmas are best gifts ever 🙂

    Posted by livingdifferentlives | October 13, 2011, 4:34 pm
  8. i love glitter cards with music LOL

    Posted by gaycarboys | October 13, 2011, 3:47 pm
  9. That is adorable!!
    I taught my grandma how to text. She was 80 years old, and texting. I had to reteach her like 10 times over the course of a year, but she ended up being able to do it! I am so proud and impressed with you. You can teach old grandmas new tricks, apparently =)

    Posted by Rai (@Rai_Alaska) | October 13, 2011, 3:10 pm
  10. From someone who doesn’t have her Mom or her Grammas anymore, let me share something.
    My most prized possessions are the letters my Grammas wrote me when I was younger. They both died by the time
    I turned 24. The cards my mother gave also are treasures to me. It is the seeing their handwriting again. This is lost with computer communication. The sight of my mother’s handwriting still tugs at my heart me, the same as the smell of her favorite perfume.
    A email birthday greeting cannot compete with that!

    Posted by Somebody's Mom | October 13, 2011, 2:59 pm
  11. I remember my mom and us we all forced our grand ma to keep a cellphone with her and now she sends us all texts that she gets from her other friends who have cellphone and the texts are all thoughtful sayings that should help is in life! Nice to know your grand ma is upto speed too haha but birthday card could have been more sweet!

    I never got a birthday card from my grand ma -__-

    Posted by Sharvil | October 13, 2011, 2:12 pm
  12. Happy Birthday 🙂

    Posted by Personal Concerns | October 13, 2011, 2:04 pm
  13. aww singing kittens? thats so cute, if only my grandma could text then my b-day would be hilarious. i tried to teach her, it didnt work out to well…

    can someone visit my site please?

    Posted by kipie99 | October 13, 2011, 1:37 pm
  14. We canines have other traditions, but we understand the significance of your human rituals. It seems like Granny sure has kept up with the times. There’s some good things about that. My human is stuck in a time warp. Yep, he still sends birthday cards. It’s interesting to see him carve out “Happy Birthday” with his chisel and mallet. We canines share birthday wishes untilizing the “Pee Phone” – not mod, but effective.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    Posted by SandySays1 | October 13, 2011, 12:54 pm
  15. Haha. That is so sweet. My grandma sent me a text, too. She thanked me for bombarding her with messages she could never reply to quickly enough.

    Posted by jenibo | October 13, 2011, 9:37 am
  16. Cool. I never got cards from mine, doesn’t really matter though, I miss my grandma.

    Posted by G&B | October 13, 2011, 7:58 am
  17. Such a cute story! And I hope it was a very Happy Birthday!
    I enjoyed reading the feedback in the Comments. I’m a grandmother of nine and still send the glittery, sometimes mushy, though age-appropriate, cards, even to the grown-up grandchildren. I will continue doing so in the hopes that they appreciate them as much as your readers do.

    Posted by JSD | October 13, 2011, 5:42 am
    • i’m so glad you enjoyed it! And I will look forawrd to those cards every year, no matter how old I get. There’s just nothing better! Thank you for the birthday wishes!

      Posted by Rachel | October 13, 2011, 2:26 pm
  18. This is cute. I can’t relate to getting an SMS from my g-ma (my paternal and maternal grandparents passed before mobile devices became mainstream) but this reminded me of the first time my father sent me a text. I was pretty dumbfounded.

    Still, I’m a traditional girl. My preference is still handwritten letters and phone calls.

    Posted by Nel | October 13, 2011, 4:59 am
    • Me too….I was brought up writing thank-you notes (against my will I’m sure), so I always appreciate when someone takes the time to put pen to paper and drop me a line. And i felt the same way when my mom sent me a text…..I’m pretty sure it was less than 5 years ago and I nearly died!

      Posted by Rachel | October 13, 2011, 2:25 pm
  19. I’m impressed by G-ma! My grandmas are gone, and my mom forgot to call me for my birthday on October 7, let alone send a card or text. It was the 3rd year in a row that she forgot. (Yep, I’m counting. Not out of resentment, just in case I ever forget hers :)). So, you are darn lucky to get a text message.

    Posted by khareen1 | October 13, 2011, 4:20 am
  20. Rachel: My grandma is super hip as well!! Happy Birthday, and hope you have many more special years with her!

    Posted by aparnanairphotography | October 13, 2011, 3:13 am
    • Thank you so much! I recently help set up her email and make a little “email address book” so she could email her card-playing group all at once haha, it was very entertaining. You can forget how easy it is for us since we pretty much grew up with it!

      Posted by Rachel | October 13, 2011, 2:22 pm
  21. I always loved getting cards from my Nan & Gak! And then they would call on my bday to sing to me and ask if I got the card. I still have some of them, my gran passed away 10 years ago now, but I still have tangible pieces of her. Unfortunately the little jewelry we had from her (most of which was worth very little) was stolen by some nasty person , but written msgs are just as good!

    Posted by ditchthebun | October 13, 2011, 1:56 am
    • I’m so sorry about your granny and her jewelry!! The same thing happened to my granny, her house was broken into a while back and she lost a lot of things that had belonged to her mom and grandmother. Luckily they didn’t get everything, but it’s still sad to me that people do that. I have a shoebox full of granny cards- christmas ones, valentine’s day ones, LOTS of birthday cards- there’s nothing like a granny card!! Thank you for stopping by!

      Posted by Rachel | October 13, 2011, 2:21 pm
  22. love that! i write about my tech-savvy grandmothers all the time.. they are amazing.

    Posted by thenextlapp | October 13, 2011, 1:33 am
  23. G-MA has joined the text-verse 🙂 But I know how you feel about cards in the mail; always a nice touch.

    Posted by Aileen Torres | October 12, 2011, 11:56 pm
  24. How cute! I still get birthday cards. Neither of my grandma’s are even CLOSE to learning how to text. I had to sign one up for an email subscription for my blog because she couldn’t get it. And the other? Doesn’t own a computer and I’ve taught her how to set up her voicemail, like 5 times…
    Still, that’s why I love them! And now that I’m married and moved away, I’m looking forward to cards!

    Posted by melissashipman | October 12, 2011, 11:33 pm
  25. Haha, I loved this story! It’s such a rare thing for people to send cards nowadays. I guess it’s a good thing that your grandma’s becoming technologically savvy. We need grandmas like that, who can stay true to the traditional ways but also adopt the new ones.

    Posted by Sophia Morgan (griffinspen) | October 12, 2011, 10:20 pm
  26. Your grandma is keeping up with the digital age – fancy that!

    Posted by leadinglight | October 12, 2011, 10:20 pm
  27. Times are changing. Fast.

    Posted by Nicole | October 12, 2011, 10:18 pm
  28. I’m impressed that your grandma texts! My grandma tried email, but gave up; I think she has a cell phone, but only if she really needs it. At least it means I still get those lovely glittery cards that I love so much! Thanks for the fun post, and congrats on being freshly pressed!

    Posted by Dounia | October 12, 2011, 10:13 pm
  29. grandma cards rock. always a little cheesy. lacking in age-appropriateness. but wreaking of love. mine always had a $5 check. this year, she upgraded me to 1 pass for the local amusement park. I’m 28. gotta love her.
    http://www.icouldntmakethisshitup.wordpress.com

    Posted by Eva McCane | October 12, 2011, 9:57 pm
  30. cool post!!! thankz for sharing… it made me miss my grandma, who is now up in the heavens. :c

    http://travellersdiningdepot.wordpress.com/

    Posted by Travelling Writer | October 12, 2011, 9:40 pm
  31. I love the glittery cards too! My grandma, however, has always been the one to get me clothes and books that were actually age-appropriate and “cool” to me at the time 🙂 She’s sent me those online greeting cards before as well 😀

    Congrats on Freshly Pressed!

    Posted by Samantha | October 12, 2011, 9:29 pm
  32. I’m not a fan of birthday cards, but when I don’t get one, life feels rotten. My birthday is coming up soon. I can expect one from my mother, and maybe from my sister-in-law (and brother). I’ve recently lost both grandmothers to alzheimer’s disease. But like you, I awaited their cards every year, always with some kind of note. I miss that.

    Great post; thank you.

    Posted by The Gates of Lodore | October 12, 2011, 9:21 pm
    • In an age of texting, tweeting and emailing, an old fashioned birthday card is always much appreciated. I’m very sorry about your grandmothers, they’re all one-of-a-kind. Thank you for stopping by, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      Posted by Rachel | October 12, 2011, 9:27 pm
  33. If my Granny could text me like that, that would be enough for my b’day! Hah, love a modern day granny 🙂

    Posted by redplace | October 12, 2011, 9:19 pm
  34. I wouldn’t feel badly about a cool, up to date grandmother sending me an email. Think of all the glitter you will NOT spill on your floor!
    Very sweet story.

    Ronnie

    Posted by morristownmemos by Ronnie Hammer | October 12, 2011, 9:03 pm
  35. Your grandma was simply updating her annual b’day wish to you. She’s a modern, with-it lady. Very sweet story.

    Ronnie

    Posted by morristownmemos by Ronnie Hammer | October 12, 2011, 8:49 pm
  36. Your grandma texts?! My grandma has a cell phone but she only uses it when she goes out of town. Too funny!

    Posted by luckythirteen05 | October 12, 2011, 7:54 pm
  37. My grandmother is afraid of her cell phone. And all technology really…but especially the cell phone. Your granny sounds rockin!

    Posted by natasiarose | October 12, 2011, 7:38 pm
  38. Aww, very cute! At least your grandma knows how to text!

    Posted by ournote2self | October 12, 2011, 7:17 pm
  39. Your Grandma is so cool!! Wow…there is no WAY mine would ever even attempt to write in text-speak. Haha!

    Cute post and congrats on being Freshly Pressed! 🙂

    P.S. Happy Be-lated Birthday too… 😉

    Posted by PCC Advantage | October 12, 2011, 7:05 pm
  40. I love old fashioned cards, when I was younger my mum used to line all of them on display in the kitchen, it was awesome.
    I met this guy that for his grandfather’s 80th got people from all over the world to send him birthday cards, that was an awesome project.

    Posted by thebigbookofdating | October 12, 2011, 7:03 pm
  41. aw love to story ! so cute .

    Posted by Fashion Diary | October 12, 2011, 6:56 pm
  42. Awwwww, such a cute story! If my grandfather texted me I would fall out on the floor 🙂 He’s SO not into technology.

    Posted by Lakia Gordon | October 12, 2011, 6:48 pm
  43. Hahaha this is amazing. What a technology-savvy granny 🙂

    Posted by abelovedone | October 12, 2011, 6:12 pm
  44. Cute post! Congratulations on being freshly pressed!

    Posted by Kentucky Kindred Genealogical Research | October 12, 2011, 6:01 pm
  45. they are watching

    Posted by theyarewatching | October 12, 2011, 5:47 pm
  46. haha! This was so funny. Your Grandma is a hip one. But still, I do love those glittery cards! 🙂

    Posted by The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife | October 12, 2011, 5:40 pm
  47. Wow — if that’s not a reflection of culture shift, I don’t know what is!!!

    Too funny…

    🙂

    Posted by Mikalee Byerman | October 12, 2011, 5:37 pm
  48. If my great-aunt sent me a birthday text I would fall out! I’ll get glitter cards until she leaves this earth.

    Posted by rumpydog | September 29, 2011, 4:52 pm
    • haha that’s kind of how I felt…what? Granny has a cell phone??? Also, I really enjoy your gravatar picture…I have a husky and he is, hands down, the most entertaining animal I’ve ever had.

      Posted by Rachel | September 29, 2011, 5:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 113 other followers

